Educational Qualification

Educational Qualification

There are various levels of training that will qualify a person to become a social worker. In Nigeria, Universities and Polytechnics offer Diplomas, degrees and post graduate studies in Social Work. As part of the training requirements, students are exposed to practice environment through work placement in Social Service Agencies.

To acquire continuous and professional development, employers encourage and support their practicing staff to obtain more training. This they achieve through capacity building, workshops, seminars organized periodically in collaboration with tertiary education experts and International Aid Organizations. In addition to this, Nigerian Association of Social Workers (NASOW) also embarks on training of members in order to keep abreast of changing trends and challenges of practice requirements.

Some institutions of higher learning that offer social work in Nigeria:


  • Ebonyi State University-Abakaliki

  • Lagos State University, Lagos

  • Nnamdi Azikwe University, Awka, Anambra State

  • University of Calabar, Calabar, Cross River State

  • University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Oyo State

  • University of Benin, Benin-City, Edo State

  • University of Jos, Jos, Plateau State

  • University of Lagos, Lagos State

  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State

  • University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri, Borno State

  • Bayero University Kano, Kano State

  • Delta State University, Abraka

  • University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom

  • Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu

  • University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Kwara State

  • Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti

  • Kogi State University, Lokoja

  • Nassarawa State University, Lafia

  • Ambrose Ali University, Ekpoma, Edo State

  • Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho, Oyo State


  • Jigawa State Polytechnic, Dutse

  • Kano State Polytechnic, Kano

  • Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna State

  • Kwara State Polytechnic, Ilorin

  • Sokoto State Polytechnic, Sokoto

  • Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri, Borno State

  • Plateau State Polytechnic, Jos

  • Federal Polytechnic, Auchi, Edo State

  • Federal Polytechnic. Offa

  • Federal Polytechnic, Mubi. Adamawa State

  • Federal School of Social Work, Emene. Enugu State

  • Shehu Idris College of Health Science and Technology, Makargi, Kaduna State

  • College of Administrative and Business Studies, Potiskum, Yobe State

  • Social Development Institute, Ningi, Bauchi State

  • Social Development Institute, Kumo, Gombe State

  • Social Development Institute, Katsina, Katsina State

  •  Adamawa State Polytechnic, Numan

  • Waziri Umaru Federal Polytechnic, Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State

  • Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu, Yobe State

  • Niger State Polytechnic, Zungeru, Bida Campus

  • Hassan Usman Katsina Polytechnic, Katsina State

Compiled by the Nigeria Association of Social work Educators