About Us

NASOW is the Association of Social Workers which attracts the largest membership base in Nigeria. NASOW at national level provides leadership to 37 Chapters cutting across 36 States of Nigeria and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The FCT Chapter is made up of social workers who work and reside within the Federal capital Territory and its environs.
The Association provides a platform for discuss and actions for the promotion of social work profession to the benefit of both practitioners and service users in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory.


The Executive Council of NASOW in the FCT is a replica of the National structure. We have a total of 10 elected executives that have a four-year tenure lead by a Chairperson. The Chairperson is expected to appoint three members to serve on the Executive Council. The Association at the FCT level is therefore governed by people in the following capacities:

  • Chairperson

  • Vice Chairperson

  • Secretary

  • Assistant Secretary

  • Treasurer

  • Financial Secretary

  • Auditor

  • PRO

  • Programme Officer

  • Welfare Officer.


  • Ex-Officios

  • Editor in Chief, and

  • Legal Co-ordinator.

At the local government level, we have Co-ordinators who report to the FCT Executive Council. Their job is to co-ordinate the affairs of the Association at the grassroot level.


The General Congress of the Association is convened annually in December immediately after the National Congress. This is the most powerful organ of the Association. It comprises Members of the Executives and the Local Government Co-ordinators. They meet at least twice in a year. The Executive Council meets at least six times in a year as occasion demands.


To ensure the smooth operation of the Association; Committees are put in place. These Committees are:

  • Research Committee

  • Welfare Committee

  • Mobilization and Contact Committee

  • Fundraising Committee

  • Policy and Strategy Committee

  • Seminars, Workshop and Conference Committee